The village
The village is surrounded by the beautiful Howgill Fells, which is a series of amazing open hills. Most of them are common land, which means the dedicated walker can explore them at his/her own leisure, and take in the stunning scenery of the area.
Tebay was once a staging post, and the importance of the village grew when the turnpike came in 1760.  When the Lancaster to Carlisle Railway came to the area in 1846, Tebay became an important railway junction with the LNER to Darlington.  More than one thousand people lived in Tebay during the time and the village had a station, engine sheds and marshalling yards. 

The River Lune, which flows alongside Tebay, is particularly popular for Trout and Salmon Fishing.
Just north of Junction 38 of the M6, visitors to the area can see a large mound of earth, which is Castle Howe. Remains of a medieval motte and bailey castle can still be seen at the site, and was probably the seat of the Tebay family until the 12th Centruy. Traces of a rampart can still be seen on the south side of the site, with a ditch separating it from the bailey. Castle Howe was originally built to defend the area from enemies passing through the Lune Gorge.
The Lancaster and Carlisle Railway, built between 1844 and 1846, linked those two cities; it was absorbed by the London and North Western Railway in 1879. Tebay became an important junction for, in 1861, the Stainmore Railway, from Tebay-Kirkby Stephen-Barnard Castle and later becoming part of the North Eastern Railway, brought traffic from the east; it was closed in 1962. The A685 runs over much of its trackbed east from Tebay towards Kirkby Stephen. The Ingleton Branch of the Lancaster and Carlisle Railway connecting via the Midland Railway to Settle and Leeds, enters the main line at the south end of the Lune Gorge; it was built in the 1850s, and was last used for passengers in the winter 1962/63 as a relief to the main line.

Tebay Castle Howe
Just the earthworks remain of a Medieval motte and bailey castle represented by a long oval hillock of about one and three quarter acres. The Motte is around 9 feet above the bailey. Traces of a rampart survive on the south side and a ditch between it and the bailey, the east and south sides of which have been eroded.
The remains sit at the meeting point of the River Lune and Birk Beck, and have been badly eroded by flood waters in the past. You can see the earthworks on the left hand side as you travel up the M6 motorway towards Penrith, just outside of Tebay.
The earthworks are undated and no history has been tracked down for them.
Photos and words by Matthew Emmott

Aerial photo by Simon Ledingham.
The River Lune, and M6 Junction 38, looking north. 
Castle Howe is upper left (the dark ring)
Taken from website http://www.visitcumbria.com/pen/tebay-castle-howe.htm 

Tebay is a village and civil parish in Cumbria, England, within the traditional borders of Westmorland. It lies in the upper Lune Valley, at the head of the Lune Gorge. The parish of Tebay had a population of 728 recorded in the 2001 census.

Old Tebay lies to the north of Tebay at grid reference NY618052.  Historically a sheep farming area, the arrival of the railway led to increased prosperity.